YOUR SHOW MUST GO ONLINE

A ONE-DAY VIRTUAL INTENSIVE ON GOING VIRTUAL

OCTOBER 4, 2020

JOIN THE INTENSIVE!

YOUR ITINERARY

Click the session to enter the Zoom meeting.
If prompted, please use this code to enter: Virtual20

 

10:45AM ET/7:45AM PT: Welcome from Ken Davenport

11:00AM ET/8:00AM PT: "The Gold in Going Virtual" featuring Jim McCarthy

12:00PM ET/9:00AM PT: "Directing a Virtual Reading or Production" featuring Neil Gooding

1:00PM ET/10:00AM PT: Break - Join this room (code: Virtual20) to network with TheaterMakers!

2:00PM ET/11:00AM PT: "The Art and Opportunity in Radio Dramas" featuring Katie Rosin

3:00PM ET/12:00PM PT: "Marketing & Money-Making Models" featuring Frances Howorth

4:00PM ET/1:00PM PT: "Tech Demo Deep-Dive" featuring Jesse Spears

5:00PM ET/2:00PM PT: ADD-ON EVENT: "Musical Direction for Virtual Performances" featuring Sonny Paladino (passcode for this add-on event can be found in your emails)

6:00 PM ET/3:00PM PT: End of Day!

EXCLUSIVE!

Download the "How To Produce your Own Virtual Reading" Execution Plan

Download Ken Davenport's Little Black Book

MEET THE FACULTY

JIM MCCARTHY is the CEO of Goldstar and the Co-Founder of Stellar.

More than 10 million people go to Goldstar to discover live shows and events nationwide. For nearly 20 years, Goldstar’s been an essential marketing tool for 5000 live entertainment organizers looking to find new audiences, increase revenue and sell out shows.

When the COVID-19 crisis shut down the entire live entertainment industry in March 2020, Jim charted the course to deliver a total show management system to help producers create and sell high quality-live streaming events. In August of 2020, Stellar starting welcoming creators and audiences in beta.

 

NEIL GOODING is an international theatre director, producer and writer. He was the originating Chairman and one of the founding members of Hayes Theatre Co in Sydney, and is the head of New Musicals Australia (Australia’s peak body for the development of original Australian Musicals). Neil produces and directs shows across the globe through Neil Gooding Productions, which he established in 2001.

Productions that Neil has produced have been nominated for numerous Helpmann Awards, Sydney Theatre Awards and Green Room Awards. His producing work internationally includes the New York productions of Church And State, Handle with Care (starring Carol Lawrence); The 39 Steps, which played at Union Square Theatre in New York; Alan Cumming’s one-man version of Macbeth which ran for a special 14-week limited season on Broadway; as well as being a financial investor in It’s Only A Play and The Ferryman. In London’s West End, NGP was a producer of the hit Australian play, Holding the Man.

KATIE ROSIN is an award-winning producer, who has been working in production and marketing for film, television, and theater for over 20 years, founding Kampfire Films in 2001. After working in production on films such as "American Psycho" and "Hedwig and the Angry Inch," Kampfire Marketing was instrumental in the launch of the Broadway musical, Brooklyn, and the National Tour of Mother Load. In 2014, she helped launched Stage17.tv, a digital entertainment destination for the world’s largest stage—the Internet. Kampfire Films works in association with MyCarl productions and with them produced the Web Series "Gemma & The Bear," "Wherever You Go," and the web-satire "Beckys Through History." She is in post-production for the TV pilot "Outdated," the short film "Liza Anonymous," and Tonya Pinkins’ horror feature, "Red Pill." Up next is the short film "Fraud" and the feature films, "A Woman Abroad" and "Changing Tides." She is currently developing multiple projects, including television series and feature films. Listen now to her musical podcast, Bleeding Love on the Broadway Podcast Network. www.kampfirefilms.com

FRANCES HOWORTH (she/her/hers) is the Director of Marketing and Digital Strategy for Irish Repertory Theatre, recently called “the leader in streaming theater productions” in Theatermania. Frances is responsible for the company’s digital presentation and distribution strategy, marketing, and ticket sales. Prior to joining Irish Rep, Frances worked in Marketing at Jazz at Lincoln Center and The Town Hall, and in the Artistic Department at American Ballet Theatre. She holds a Masters’ Degree in Performing Arts Administration from New York University, and while there she held internships at Orpheus Chamber Orchestra and the New York International Fringe Festival. Frances is originally from Oxford, Mississippi and holds a bachelor’s degree in European History from Barnard College. Outside of work, Frances is an avid audience member, reader, and quilter.

JESSE SPEARS is the Director of Product Marketing for Stellar. Prior to joining the Stellar team, Jesse worked for a year as Goldstar's Director of Sales Operations, learning about all things event marketing and sales. He lives in Rochester, NY with his wife and sixteen-month-old son.... And 3 dogs... Quarantine life is wild.

SONNY PALADINO most recently served as Music Director, arranger and orchestrator for the Broadway musical Getting the Band Back Together and the off-Broadway revival of Smokey Joe’s Café.  Other recent credits: Music Supervisor for the Broadway Musical, Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812, Associate Conductor for The Last Ship (written by 16 time Grammy Award winner, Sting), and the TONY winning best revival, Pippin.  Other Broadway credits as a musician, Jesus Christ Superstar, Billy Elliot, Grease, Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, Guys and Dolls, Mama Mia, Promises, Promises, Addams Family, Women on the Verge. Music Supervisor for Disney’s High School Musical (Milan/Italy tour.) 1st National Tours: Disney’s High School Musical, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels and Grease. Arrangements and orchestrations for The Indianapolis, Baltimore, Vancouver, Detroit and Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra’s. As a composer: The Return of the Blue Cat (with poet F.D. Reeve.)  TV: The X-Factor (Australia), The Next Big Thing. Sonny is also a founding member and arranger of the hit group The Doo Wop Projectwhich tours the country performing classic Doo Wop music and contemporary songs in that style. Currently Sonny is creating a show alongside Gyspy Snider with her artist collective, The 7 Fingers based out of Montreal, CA. Sonny holds a B.F.A. in Jazz Piano from CUNY City College.

FACULTY RESOURCES

We'll be updating this section throughout the day with resources and tips mentioned from the speakers.

 

JIM MCCARTHY

  1. Visit StellarTickets.com to take your show online!

NEIL GOODING

  1. Who's your Baghdaddy? Australia's First Ever Online Musical Production
  2. SAG-AFTRA's New Media Contract
  3. Open Broadcast System
  4. Streamyard
  5. Neil: neil@goodingproductions.com

KATIE ROSIN

  1. Zencastr
  2. Zoom
  3. Streamyard
  4. Squadcast
  5. Audacity
  6. Logic Pro, Premiere, Garageband (Editing Software)
  7. Godspell at Berkshire Theatre Group (show is closed but they used plastic dividers)
  8. Blue Yeti microphones
  9. Geocaching App
  10. Murder Podcast
  11. Katie: katie@kampfirefilms.com

FRANCES HOWORTH

  1. OvationTix
  2. OBS (Open Broadcasting Software)
  3. Restream.io
  4. Frances: frances@irishrep.org

JESSE SPEARS

  1. Sample the Stellar experience. Purchase a free ticket to the October 4th demo performance with ticket code "comp"
  2. Stripe (Payment Processing)
  3. academy.stellarorganizer.com